Paleo Party Food: Bacon-Wrapped Dates

Nutrition-3You know a party was a success when you forget to take pictures of the delicious food you made, right? Right?! I guess that’s my way of telling you I messed up. I made what can only be described as paleo candy, I watched intently as my guests gobbled them up, and I DID NOT TAKE PICTURES OF THE DAMN FOOD!

I swear, it had nothing to do with the dirty martini I was happily nursing. I simply got super distracted, you know, enjoying the party. Anyway, the point is, I am mad at myself, because these Bacon-Wrapped Dates were some of the greatest- if not THE greatest- party snacks I have ever made.

I will warn all of you now, there is cheese is these little babies. However, before any dairy-avoiders click away, there is literally the tiniest drop of cheese in each one of these. And they will change your world.

Here’s what you’ll need to make this yourself:

  • 1 package pitted dried dates (no sugar added)
  • 5 strips of bacon (approximately)
  • 4 oz. crumbled goat cheese

That’s literally all you need!

Preheat your oven to 375. Then, take a sharp knife and cut each dried date in half, being sure to only cut through one side of the date (you don’t want the cheesy goodness you are about to stuff into the dates to melt out!).

Next, cut each bacon strip into 4-6 small, thin strips. (The number of bacon strips you will need does vary a bit on the number of dates in the package. I used about 5 strips.)

To put the dates together, simply put 1-2 small pieces of goat cheese (if you buy crumbled goat cheese, the cheese will naturally form small curds that are the perfect size for stuffing the dates) into the center of each date. Then, wrap a small strip of bacon around the center of each date, being sure the bacon wraps around 1.5 times. Place each prepared date on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or tinfoil.

Bake these for about 20 minutes, or until the bacon is crisp. You’ll have to watch these carefully toward the end of the cooking time. The time can really vary based on your oven and even the bacon itself.

Finally, put these bad boys on a fancy plate and sit back and watch as your party guests go nuts. But be sure to snag a few for yourself before giving them away!

If you make these, for the love of God take a photo. They are so pretty!

One thought on “Paleo Party Food: Bacon-Wrapped Dates

Have Your Say

