Pork Ginger Meatballs & Zoodles!

Nutrition-3Back before I began my paleo lifestyle, I loved me some spaghetti. I ate it with tomato sauce, with pesto sauce, even just with butter and cheese. It was a meal at least three times a week, often more than that. And the only thing that could make the spaghetti better? MEATBALLS!

Now, I don’t eat pasta anymore (except for two times on my honeymoon this December…both of which were amazingly delicious, and amazing painful later!), but I still can’t get enough of meatballs. The pork ginger meatballs the hubby and I made for dinner this Wednesday are some of my current favorites.

Full of delicious Asian flavor, these glorious balls of meat are made with ground pork, freshly ground ginger and sesame oil. The recipe is borrowed from Liz Wolfe (of Balanced Bites podcast and Baby Making and Beyond fame) and her Real Food Liz blog. She pairs the meatballs with carrot noodles, which I’ve never actually tried. They look amazing, but I’ve paired these with zucchini noodles (cool people call them “zoodles”) each time and have really loved the combination.

I make up my own sauce for the zoodles, making it a little differently each time depending on my mood. But no matter how you make the noodles, I’m sure this meal will be a great addition to your week-night rotation. It’s super easy to make and doesn’t require many dishes.

Find the full meatball recipe here.

For the zoodles:

  • 2-3 zucchini (this serves about two people)
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tbsp. fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 tsp. mirin
  • 2 tsp. rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. coconut aminos
  • 1/2 tbsp. chili garlic paste
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • chopped scallions, for garnish
  • salt and pepper to taste

Using a mandolin, julienne cutter or peeler, carefully cut your zucchini into zoodles. Depending on the tool you use, your zoodles will vary in shape and size. I like the way the mandolin/julienne cutter work best (making a zoodle that is shaped like spaghetti), but a plain old peeler works fine, too (making more of a fettuccine shape).

Once your zoodles are prepared, toss them in a sauté pan over medium heat with the sesame oil, garlic and ginger and stir to combine. While the zoodles begin to cook, mix all other ingredients (except for scallions) together in a small bowl. Pour the sauce into the zoodle pan, turn the heat up to high and let the zoodles simmer for about 2-3 minutes, or until the zoodles are soft and the sauce has thickened slightly.

Top the delicious zoodles with the prepared meatballs, sprinkle on some scallions, and then bon a petit!

Zoodles and Pork Ginger Meatballs 3 Zoodles and Pork Ginger Meatballs

Let me know how you like this meal. I think it’s delicious!

 

Have Your Say

