Recipe: Gluten-Free, Paleo Breakfast Pizza

IMG_0758I LOVE pizza. It’s definitely the food I miss most since I began following a paleo, grain-free diet. And now that I’m being strict about not eating dairy, it’s become even harder to get my pizza fix. Still, I’m not one to give up on a craving, so this weekend I was determined to make a breakfast pizza recipe that would really taste like good, old-fashioned pizza.

For a first attempt, I think it came out really great! I overcooked the eggs a bit (that darn broiler always gets me!), and I think I might make a few adjustments to the crust next time, but it was super delicious and had a great texture the way it was.

I had made a paleo pizza crust before and really loved it, but found it a bit too crunchy for my liking. So this time, I set out to make a crust that would be lighter and chewier. After searching around online for various pizza crust recipes, I combined some of the ideas I saw and made up my own recipe, making mashed sweet potato and almond meal the base. It was delicious– really chewy, and even able to be picked up like a real slice of pizza. I do think I may reduce the liquid content next time, to add a bit more of a crunch, but we really loved this.

Topped with homemade pesto sauce, crumbled bacon, grape tomatoes, red bell pepper and eggs, the sweet potato crust was the perfect base for a breakfast pizza.

Breakfast Pizza

Here’s how you can make this in your kitchen:

For the crust:

  • 1 cup mashed sweet potato (I needed one very large cooked sweet potato for this)
  • 1 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted (you could probably sub butter or ghee for this)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp Herbs de Provence (or any other herb of your choice)
  • pinch of salt and pepper

1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. While the oven is preheating, mix together all of the ingredients for the dough. It should become thick, but will not roll into a ball like most pizza dough.

2. One a baking sheet covered in parchment paper, spread the dough out evenly with a spatula or spoon to form your pizza crust (make it whatever shape you want!). The crust should be about 1/4 inch thick. Place the pan into the oven to bake for about 25-30 minutes, until it is nicely browned and the top has become a bit crusty.

3. Top the pizza with whatever toppings you want, and then return to the oven for about 10 minutes. I finished mine off under the broiler, but honestly probably didn’t need to.

This crust could serve as the base for any kind of pizza. But as it was breakfast time, we made some homemade basil pesto sauce (you can find the recipe here) and crumbled bacon, added some grape tomatoes, red bell peppers and minced garlic sautéed in the bacon fat, and then cracked four eggs on top of the pizza. The eggs set up nicely in about 10 minutes. They ended up a bit overcooked– but still delicious!– when I turned on the broiler for a final 2 minutes. We finished off the pie with a sprinkle of fresh basil and pine nuts. NOM NOM

Breakfast Pizza 2

This was SO good– a great weekend breakfast treat! Try this recipe out for yourself and let me know what you think! What toppings would YOU put on this pizza?

Have Your Say

