Creamy Ginger-Lime Coleslaw Recipe

IMG_0758I spent most of last week traveling for work and as a result, I didn’t get to cook at all! So, when I finally returned home Friday afternoon I knew what I needed to do. No, it was not make a stiff drink (that came later). I headed to the grocery store to stock up for a weekend packed full with cooking.

On Friday evening, I was looking to make something new, but fairly simple. I had been away for the week, after all, and I was exhausted. So I turned to an old favorite: asian style lettuce wraps. (You can find a recipe for a common filling I use for these wraps here.) To make them a little different, however, I prepared a new take on one of my favorite lettuce wrap toppings and BBQ side dish: COLESLAW!

What resulted was a tangy, slightly sweet, completely delicious and totally unique version of the old classic: Ginger-Lime Coleslaw. The best part? It’s SO easy to make! Bring it to your next backyard BBQ and watch people fall in love.

My only regret: I didn’t take a picture, so you will just have to make this yourself and take one to share with me!

Here’s how you can make this in your kitchen:

  • 1 bag coleslaw mix (whichever variety you like)*
  • 3 tbsp organic mayonnaise
  • 2 tsp ginger puree (you could use about the same much freshly grated ginger, but I buy the puree in tubes because I use it so much!)
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 2 tsp rice vinegar
  • salt and pepper, to taste

*Feel free to chop your own cabbage, carrots and any other veggies you want in the coleslaw. A typical bag of coleslaw mix is about 4.5 cups worth, so just keep that number in mind!

1. In a small bowl or large liquid measuring cup, combine all of the ingredients except for the coleslaw mix. Whisk to combine fully. Add salt and pepper to taste.

2. Pour the coleslaw mix into a large bowl and then add in the sauce, stirring to coat fully and evenly.

3. EAT.

Yes, that is it. It’s so simple. And if you’re anything like me and the hubby, you will love it! This tastes great as a topping in a lettuce wrap with some ground pork, beef or chicken, but would also be great on a burger, in a salad, with pulled pork or as a side dish to almost any meal.

If you try this recipe out, let me know what you think! I’m always looking to improve my recipes!

Have Your Say

