Transformation Tuesday: Thai-Style Beet Coleslaw

NutritionClearly I am dreaming of summer. This is my second paleo coleslaw recipe in a week! I am using today’s coleslaw recipe as today’s “Transformation Tuesday”post, because I really feel like this version is a complete transformation of the typical mayo-laden version you’re used to eating at every barbecue (not that there is anything wrong with mayo!).

The hubby and I made pulled pork in the crock pot for dinner last night, and I LOVE to eat coleslaw with pulled pork. Still, I wanted to try something very different (even more different than last week’s Ginger-Lime Coleslaw), and I had some beets I needed to use up.

So I made this creation: Thai-Style Beet Coleslaw! It was SO good! The dressing is light but full of flavor and still slightly creamy thanks to a bit of mayo. And it was great on pulled pork tacos with plantain tortillas.

Here’s how you can make this in your kitchen:

For the slaw:

  • 2 medium beets, peeled and shredded (with a food processor or large grater)
  • 8 oz. traditional coleslaw mix or shredded cabbage (about half a typical bag of mix)
  • 3/4 cup fresh pineapple, chopped (this can be left out, but adds a nice sweetness)

For the sauce:

  • 1 tbsp mayo
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger puree (I buy mine in a tube, but you could also use freshly grated ginger)
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp coconut aminos
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Juice of two limes
  • salt and pepper, to taste

1. Mix the ingredients for the slaw in a bowl, stirring until well mixed.

2. In a bowl or large glass measuring cup, whisk together all of the ingredients for the sauce until well-combined and smooth.

3. Pour the sauce gradually over the slaw and mix thoroughly, until the vegetables are evenly coated.

4. EAT. Now wasn’t that easy?!

This was great on our tacos, but would also be great as a base for a salad topped with almost any kind of protein. I am not a huge fish fan, but I think this would be great with some tuna or salmon on top!

Beet Slaw

Let me know if you try this recipe! The hubby and I both loved it!

Have Your Say

