Recipe: Savory Breakfast Crepes with Mustard-Dill Hollandaise

I am not a fan of sweet breakfasts. As you can probably tell by the recipes I share and the meals I post to Instagram, I could eat eggs almost every day of the week. Still, even eggs can get boring sometimes (shocking, I know). And since the hubby has been bugging me for weeks now to make some paleo crepes, I decided to switch things up last weekend and bring some crepes to the table.

I couldn’t completely move away from my eggs, however, so I decided to make savory breakfast crepes, filling these thin, pancake-like wraps with scrambled eggs, ham and roasted asparagus, and topping them with a mustard-dill hollandaise sauce. It. Was. Awesome. (if I do say so myself!)

The crepes, from Danielle Walker’s Against All Grain blog, were delicious, and would be great the way we used them or topped with some fresh fruit, nuts and maple syrup. They’d also be a great way to make enchiladas, as they have a very neutral flavor.

I think my favorite part of this recipe, however, was the hollandaise sauce. I’ve made dill hollandaise before, but the addition of the mustard in this version really added another layer of flavor that I LOVED.

IMG_0295

Try this recipe out in your house this weekend, and let me know how it turns out!

Here’s how to make this in your kitchen:

Make the crepes by following the recipe, found here. Once they are made, set aside until the fillings are ready (I would cover them or wrap them in tinfoil to stay warm).

***For the filling, get creative! We simply roasted some asparagus with olive oil, salt and pepper in a 400-degree oven for about 20 minutes, and then  scrambled some eggs with chopped Canadian bacon, salt and pepper. We wrapped up the eggs and asparagus in the crepes and topped with the hollandaise sauce.

For the hollandaise sauce (makes enough for 3 servings of 2 crepes each):

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 tbsp grass-fed butter (Kerrygold is my favorite!), melted
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1-2 tsp water (or more*)
  • 1 tsp mustard (or more to taste) (any variety you like!)
  • 1/2 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Place 1-2 inches of water in a small saucepan and bring to a bowl. Place the three egg yolks into a glass, heat-safe bowl and place the bowl on top of the boiling water in the saucepan (you do not want the bowl to touch the water). Whisk the yolks continuously over the heat until they begin to thicken, about 3 minutes.

2. Once the yolks have begun to thicken, remove the bowl from the saucepan and slowly add the butter to the yolks, stirring continuously. Once the butter is incorporated, add the lemon juice and the water. (Start by adding just 1 tsp water and add more depending on how thin you want the sauce to be.)

3. Stir in the mustard, dill, salt and pepper and taste, adding more of any ingredient based on your flavor preferences. Use the sauce to top these crepes, or any egg dish! This especially goes well with ham or bacon, too.

**Note: if you need to keep this warm, place the bowl back on top of the hot water in the saucepan, over very low heat, and stir frequently to ensure it does not get too thick. If necessary, you can add a little more water to thin out the sauce before serving.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and breakfast inspiration! If you try it, let me know what you think.

Have Your Say

