Curry-Spiced Eggs in Purgatory with Spaghetti Squash

IMG_0758I’ve been crazy busy at work the last couple weeks, and while I’ve made plenty of time to cook, I haven’t made time to write up the recipes! I’m finally getting my act together tonight, and hope to share a few more from the last week or so over the next several days.

I knew I was going to have to work all night tonight (I know, it’s FRIDAY, but ad campaigns don’t make themselves!), so I wanted to make something for dinner that would be simple, but delicious, and would power through some late hours of getting sh** done!

I had been thinking for a while about making over one of my favorite recipes from Mediterranean Paleo Cooking: Eggs in Purgatory. This dish is often served for breakfast, and consists of eggs poached in tomato sauce. But I had a feeling it would make a great “pasta” dish, and boy was I right!

Tonight I made the recipe my own, adding turkey sausage, curry, coriander and red pepper flakes to the tomato sauce, poaching two eggs in the sauce, and pouring it all over spaghetti squash. It. Was. Glorious. (if I do say so myself!)

IMG_0787

Here’s how you can make this in your kitchen (makes 3 servings):

  • 2 tbsp olive oil (or other cooking fat)
  • 2 gloves garlic, minced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 3 links sausage (casings removed), or 1/2 pound ground sausage
  • 2 (13.7-oz) boxes (or two 14 oz. cans) crushed tomatoes
  • 3 cups kale (or other leafy green), chopped
  • 1 tsp red pepper flake
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp capers
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 whole spaghetti squash, prepared
  • 3 eggs

1. Heat the olive oil in a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Once the oil is hot, add in the garlic and cook, stirring, until the garlic is fragrant, or about 1 minute. Add in the diced bell pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until the pepper begins to soften, about 3 minutes.

2. Add the sausage to the pan and cook, crumbling the meat, until it is cooked through, about 3 minutes. Add the crushed tomatoes and kale (or other leafy greens) to the pan, stirring to combine. Add the red pepper flake, curry powder, coriander, balsamic vinegar, capers and salt and pepper, to taste, and stir.

3. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer the sauce and vegetable mixture for 3-5 minutes. Then, make three wells in the sauce and vegetable mixture and crack one egg into each well. Cover the pan and cook over medium-low heat until the eggs are cooked through to your desired texture, about 3-5 minutes.

4. To serve, place some prepared spaghetti squash onto each of three plates and top with one poached egg and a third of the sauce. We topped ours with minced green onions, but this would be great with some Parmesan or feta cheese, too, if you tolerate dairy.

5. EAT AND ENJOY!

Let me know if you try this out! We absolutely loved it!

IMG_0779

Have Your Say

