Paleo Summer Recipe: Sriracha Coleslaw

IMG_0758If you haven’t noticed yet, I love making coleslaw. It’s pretty humorous considering I spent most of my life despising the stuff. Thank god I have seen the light because coleslaw is awesome, and I am currently obsessed with coming up with new varieties!

In fact, this entire spring so far I’ve only made one of my coleslaw recipes twice– and it’s this one! This Sriracha Slaw is creamy, tangy, spicy and sweet all at the same time. It was a big hit with the hubby when I first made it, and an even bigger hit with the crowd at my sister-in-law’s Memorial Day barbecue last weekend. As such, it has officially earned its place in the coleslaw hall of fame (aka this blog post).

IMG_1337

Here’s how you can make this in your kitchen:

  • 1 bag coleslaw mix (while bag sizes can vary, a standard bag usually has 16-24 oz)
  • 3 tbsp. mayo
  • 1 tsp. sriracha sauce
  • 2.5 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp. coconut aminos (or gluten-free soy sauce)
  • 1 tsp. honey
  • 3 tbsp. scallions, sliced thin
  • 1/2 tsp. sesame oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste

1. Combine all ingredients (except the coleslaw mix) in a small bowl, whisking until smooth.

2. Add the coleslaw mix to a large bowl and add the sauce to the vegetables. Stir to coat all of the vegetables evenly. Add salt and pepper to taste.

3. Eat and enjoy!

IMG_1334

Is this not the simplest recipe ever? And trust me, it’s super good! It’s the perfect summertime side dish for grass-fed hot dogs and burgers, or any grilled meat. Leftovers also make a great addition to lettuce wraps and salads!

Try this out and let me know what you think!

Have Your Say

