Paleo Dessert Recipe: Summer Peach Shortcake with Cinnamon-Ginger Brown Butter (Grain-Free, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

IMG_0758You can probably tell from looking around this blog that I’m much more interested in cooking than baking. It’s not that I don’t like dessert (I’m not a monster!), it’s just that I find baking much more challenging, and often find that paleo-friendly desserts just don’t live up to their traditional counterparts.

That all changed this weekend, though. I’m telling you- this is the best dessert I’ve ever made! And maybe even the best paleo dessert I’ve eaten yet (I know, I know…that’s crazy…maybe…): Summer Peach Shortcake with Cinnamon-Ginger Brown Butter Sauce. Ripe summer peaches come together with browned butter, cinnamon, ginger and coconut whipped cream to form a lightly sweetened dish perfect for a hot summer night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The best part? It’s so simple to make!

The recipe below is for 2 servings, but this is easy enough to just make for one if you’re really craving a dessert one night and simple enough to make for a crowd!

Here’s how you can make this in your kitchen (makes 2 servings):

  • 2 coconut cupcakes, sliced in half to create a top and bottom
  • 2 tbsp grass-fed butter (I like Kerrygold brand)
  • 1 ripe peach, sliced into pieces about 1/4 inch thick
  • 1 tsp ginger paste (or grated fresh ginger)
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Optional, coconut whipped cream (for garnish)

1. In a small sauté pan over medium heat, melt the grass-fed butter. Cook the butter, stirring frequently, until it begins to brown in the pan, about 2-3 minutes. If the butter is not browning you can turn the heat up to medium-high, but be careful to not let the butter burn.

2. After the butter begins to brown, add the sliced peaches to the pan. Cook the peaches, stirring occasionally until they begin to soften, about 3 minutes.

3. While the peaches are cooking, mix together the ginger, cinnamon, honey and vanilla in a small bowl. Once the peaches begin to soften, add the spice and honey mixture to the sauté pan and stir until the peaches are evenly coated. Cook another 1-2 minutes, stirring frequently.

4. Top the bottom of each of the coconut cupcakes with half the peach and sauce mixture. If you’re using it, add some coconut whipped cream on top and then add the top half of the cupcake, creating a tower of peach shortcake deliciousness.

5. EAT AND ENJOY! (I dare you to eat this in more than 2 minutes…seriously, if you can do it, I want to meet you.)

Peach Shortcake 3

Peach Shortcake 7

The hubby literally licked his plate when I made this last night, so I hope you enjoy it! Be sure to let me know how the recipe worked out in the comment section below (your feedback will only make me better!)

Have shortcake ideas of your own? Let me know! I’d love some inspiration for other versions of this dessert!

 

Have Your Say